Disintegration Parts I & II

I’m finally stressed about Uni, there are two lose ends to sort out regarding my 2010 portfolio, framing to be done (and paid for) folios produced for my major works, support works, life drawing and extra-curricular activities. Bleurgh. And there’s roughly 3.5 weeks to do it – I’ll be fine – or at least that’s what I keep telling myself.

This particular piece consists of a seagull’s skull and vertebrae that under numerous layers of gesso, ground aluminum copper hued paint, spray varnish, enamel spray paint, spray adhesive and black craft glitter, quietly rest atop hand sewn and beaded velvet cushions with clusters of tiny black, opaque Swarovski beads inside the damaged satin linings of two humbly scaled antique jewelery boxes.

The piece refers to that part within all of us that we surrender or alternatively grasp onto when becoming romantically involved with someone, they represent that internal cornice that can become disfigured and longed for when embarking on emotional connections, we all like to deny it, but everyone changes when they’re in a romantic relationship. Whether that be that they become happier, more alike the other party or like me, become overwhelmed by the idea of conforming to a shared lifestyle and the possibility of losing oneself within it. The title may lend a clue to how I feel about this process – although, I’m sure some of my friends might not believe that.

The piece is missing something, and I assume it’s text, but I think that these little symbols, however layered and mutated may be speaking for themselves, now I just have to convince myself and my assessors!

Leave a comment

Filed under My Work

Leave a comment